My favorite piece(s) of art…

My favorite pieces(s) of art that I saw in Rome have to be Apollo and Daphne at the Borgese Gallery, Da Vinci’s St. Jerome and St. George and the Dragon by Raphael both from the Vatican Museum. I still am blown away that I could stand literally inches away from each of these pieces. I thought that they would all be surrounded by glass or roped off with feet around them. I was so tempted to touch but I could feel the guards were watching me so I restrained myself.

DAFNE E APOLO DE COSTASThis statue is a favorite because off the detail and how hard it must have been for Bernini to carve out each leaf. I wish that I could time travel back to watch him work.

Léonard_de_Vinci_-_Saint_Jérôme I love Da Vinchi’s work and to be able to see this one was amazing.

vatican-museums  I remember reading a story about St. George and the Dragon when I was little and to see this painting in real life was so awesome!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment